Skip to Main Content

How do I inform you a member has opted out?

Workers who choose to opt out by paper form must give the completed form to you within their opt-out period. You’ll then need to use a contribution schedule to tell NEST that the worker wants to opt out.

A member can call us or email through their online NEST account to request a paper opt-out form. The form contains statutory information and includes a unique reference number which you’ll need in order to process their request. Please see How do workers opt out of NEST?

Once you’ve received the completed opt-out form, click ‘Manage contributions’ or ‘Contributions’ from your NEST home page.

 

In Manage contributions, find the earliest schedule that includes the member and click on the orange arrow under Edit/Pay.

Find the member who’s opting out and click ‘Options’.

When you click ‘Options’, you’ll see the Contribution options for this period drop-down menu. You’ll need to select ‘Member has opted out’ and enter the unique opt-out reference number found on the opt-out form.

After both fields are completed, tick the box that confirms the member has submitted the form to you within their opt-out period.

Click ‘Done’. You’ll be taken back to the main schedule and the member status will show as Member validated.

You can complete the rest of the contribution schedule and select ‘Submit schedule’ when you’re ready to submit the schedule. We can’t process the opt-out request until you’ve done this.

Once the contribution schedule is submitted the member will show as No contributions due and there’ll be a message displayed in ‘Manage workers’ under the member’s name reading Opt out in progress.

We’ll send them a confirmation that their request has been processed successfully either by post or by email depending on the communication preference of the member.

You can stop deducting contributions from the member. If you’ve sent any contributions to us, they’ll be refunded within 10 working days and you must return the member contributions to the member. We’ll send a message to your secure mailbox which will have a breakdown of any refunds to help you reconcile your payments. Please see How will I receive refunds for members who’ve opted out? for more information on opt-out refunds.

Every three years you’ll need to re-enrol any workers who are eligible for auto enrolment but aren’t in a qualifying scheme.

Your first re-enrolment date is set as three years from your staging date. However, you’ll have the flexibility to choose any date either three months before or after that date to fit around your normal processes. You can find more information about this in What date should I use to re-enrol my workers?

We value your feedback

Your feedback is important to us. To help us improve, tell us what you think about our employer help centre by taking a short survey.

Take the survey

Was this helpful to you?

Tell us how can we improve this article?

/4000
Cancel Submit

Thank you.

Feedback

Was this helpful to you?

Tell us how can we improve this article?

/4000
Cancel Submit

Live Chat

Our live help agents will answer your questions and guide you trough setting up and managing NEST.

Our chat is available from Monday to Sunday from 8.00AM to 8.00PM