MenuClose Menu
NEST Logo
Access your mails here
Mailbox
Image my account

What are the different types of NEST connect users?

There are two types of users NEST connectors can set up:

General users can manage or edit their own settings such as email and post addresses. They can also set up and manage new employer accounts.

Super users can do everything a general user can do plus they can add and remove other delegates but they can’t edit other user’s personal details.

For more information about what each type of delegate can do see our list below.

General users:

  • edit their own personal details
  • can manage their own account
  • set up new employer accounts
  • manage employer accounts.

Super users:

  • edit own personal details
  • can manage their own account
  • add or remove users from delegate organisation
  • add or remove users from employer accounts
  • delete employer accounts from the list that delegate organisation manages
  • change delegate organisation details including primary contact
  • delete delegate organisation details if no longer required
  • set up new employer accounts
  • manage employer accounts.

You’ll need to decide the level of access to be given to each of your employees.

Super users and general users are access levels for management of the NEST connect account. They do not relate to the access levels granted to delegates of employer accounts, like general users, full access users etc.

The person who registers and sets up the NEST connect account will be given super user access. They can create other users.

They’ll also set up the primary contact for the account. The primary contact will receive any important messages from us, including information about changes. If the primary contact is different from the person who registers and sets up the NEST connect account, they’ll also be given super user access.

It’s a good idea to set up additional users who can provide cover during holidays or unexpected absences. They’ll need to have the user’s contact details in hand when they set them up.

Access to employer accounts

Both super users and general users will have the level of access to an employer’s account that the entire delegate organisation was assigned by the employer. For example, if the employer assigns ‘Read only’ delegate access to the delegate organisation then this applies to all of the super users and general users that are assigned to that employer.

 

You’ll need to agree with each employer the tasks you need to undertake and level of access your users should have to the employer’s account. For more information on the different levels of delegate access available see What is a delegate?

User communications

Each user will have a secure NEST mailbox. We’ll send them a secure message every time a relevant task is completed for an employer account that they have access to, depending on the user-type assigned to the NEST connect organisation by the employer. If an employer grants access to the NEST connect organisation as a full access delegate, then users will be able to see all messages sent by us to an employer’s secure NEST mailbox, from the point they’re set up. If you’ve been added as an individual delegate by mistake, but you need access as a NEST connect organisation, you can’t automatically migrate from being an individual delegate for an employer to a delegate organisation. This needs to be done manually.

To do this you need to make sure that:

  • Your delegate organisation account is set up.
  • The relevant users are added to your delegate organisation.
  • The delegate organisation is linked to the employer with the appropriate level of access to perform the agreed tasks on behalf of the employer.
  • The relevant users are assigned to the employer account.
  • You and your users have saved or printed all the information you need from the old account. For example, you might want copies of important documents we’ve sent to your secure mailbox, as these messages won’t be available when you move to the new arrangement.

Once you’re happy that everything is working as expected in the new NEST connect account, a full access NEST connect user can delete all individual delegates if required.

Was this helpful to you?

Tell us how can we improve this article?

/4000
Cancel Submit

Thank you.

Feedback

Was this helpful to you?

Tell us how can we improve this article?

/4000
Cancel Submit

Live Chat

Our live help agents will answer your questions and guide you trough setting up and managing NEST.

Our chat is available from Monday to Sunday from 8.00AM to 8.00PM