Skip to Main Content

Your feedback is important to us. To help us improve, tell us what you think about our employer help centre by taking a short survey.

What does each member status in a contribution schedule mean?

Members are automatically given a status on a contribution schedule so that you know what action needs to be taken for them.

When you enter details for a member in a contribution schedule and click ‘Save changes’, we’ll change the member’s status to let you know if the information has been accepted or if there’s anything else you’d need to do.

For example, if a member’s status is Payment expected it means you’ve clicked ‘Submit schedule’ for that member but we haven’t received the money yet.

You can click ‘More details’ in the Contribution summary box above the contribution schedule to see an overview of the member’s status.

A list will appear with details of how many members are in a certain status.

You can also see each member’s individual status in the contribution schedule. If there are any errors, you can click ‘View’ next to the name of the member to view the error details.

If you’re making a contribution for a member or telling us that they’re due for a partial or zero contribution, then their status needs to be Member validated before you click ‘Submit schedule’ for them. You can find more information about this in Making partial or zero contributions.

You can also click ‘Submit schedule’ before all of the members in the contribution schedule have been validated if you want to pay for only certain members at a time. The schedule will only move to ‘Paid’ status once all members are validated and you’ve clicked ‘Submit schedule’.

Some member’s status will change automatically without you doing anything. For example, if a member becomes ineligible because they’ve opted out or stopped contributions through us directly, we’ll change their status on any schedules they appear on, so you’ll know that you don’t need to pay for them.

The table below explains the meaning of different statuses for members on a contribution schedule.

Status What it means What you need to do

Action needed - not yet validated

This status is automatically given to a member when they’re first added to a contribution schedule. This means that you haven’t yet provided any pensionable earnings and contribution information or a partial or non-payment reason for that member.

You’ll need to enter the member’s pensionable earnings and contribution information or a reason for a partial or non-payment. Once you’ve done this and we’ve validated the information the member’s status will change to Member validated.

Member validated

You’ve provided valid contribution information or a valid reason for partial or non-payment of contributions for this member.

When you’re ready, click ‘Submit schedule’ and we’ll then process all the members who are validated. You can pay for all the validated members as and when you want to which means you don’t have to pay for everyone at the same time. Once you’ve done this the member’s status will change to Submitted and then Payment expected.

Action needed – invalid

You’ve provided invalid information for the member. For example, the contribution amounts are below the level we were expecting and you haven’t provided a reason for partial or non-payment of contributions. Click the error icon under the Errors column for details of what you need to do.

Please correct the member’s contribution information. Once you’ve entered the valid information and we’ve validated it their status will change to Member validated.

Submitted

You’ve clicked ‘Submit schedule’ to approve your schedule and we’re processing it. We’ll lock the member’s record while we’re processing the schedule and you won’t be able to edit them until this is completed.

You don’t need to do anything. Once we’ve finished processing the schedule the member’s status will change to Payment expected or No contributions due.

Payment expected

We’ve finished processing your contribution schedule but we haven’t received the payment for this member yet. We’ll lock the member’s details in the contribution schedule and you’ll only be able to edit their details once we’ve received the payment.

You’ll need to make your payment. If you’re using direct debit we’ll automatically collect the amount due after we’ve finished processing your contribution schedule. See How does Direct Debit with NEST work? for guidance. If you’re paying by debit card you’ll need to pay separately. See How does paying by debit card work? for guidance. Once we’ve received the payment the member’s status will change to Payment received by NEST.

Payment received by NEST

We’ve received the payment for this member in the contribution schedule and we’ve unlocked their details.

If you need to, you can still edit or correct their contribution amounts.

A member may also have this status if you’ve corrected a paid contribution schedule to reduce the member’s contribution amount and after submitting the schedule for payment.

You don’t have to do anything unless you need to correct the member’s contribution information.

Member corrected

You’ve corrected the member’s pensionable earnings or contribution information after we received the original payment for them.

You’ll need to click ‘Submit schedule’ for the member again. The member’s status will then change to Submitted correction in progress or Payment expected.

Submitted correction in progress

You’ve corrected a member’s pensionable earnings or contribution information and clicked ‘Submit schedule’. We’re processing the contribution schedule. During this time we’ll lock the member’s details and you won’t be able to edit them.

You don’t need to do anything. Once we’ve processed the corrected information, the member’s status will change. If you need to pay additional contributions it’ll change to Payment expected or if we’ve refunded payment it’ll change to Payment received by NEST.

No contributions due

You’ve told us you’re not making any contributions for this member and have clicked ‘Submit schedule’ to approve the contribution schedule for them. For example, this might be because you’ve told us the member has insufficient earnings or because the member has left your organisation or they’ve opted out using a paper opt-out form.

You don’t need to do anything.

Not eligible – Opt-out

You’ve told us the member has opted out using a paper opt-out form in another contribution schedule or they’ve opted out with us directly.

You won’t be able to provide contribution information for this member.

Not eligible – De-enrolled

You’ve cancelled the member’s enrolment using an enrolment cancellation file.

You won’t be able to provide contribution information for this member.

Not eligible – Leaver

You’ve told us in a previous contribution schedule the member has stopped working for you, stopped making contributions or you’re using a different pension provider for them.

You won’t be able to provide contribution information for the member in this schedule. If you need to correct a member’s earlier contributions you’ll have to use the previous contribution schedule where the member appeared.

If you need to pay an additional contribution that isn’t covered by an earlier contribution schedule, use an exception schedule. Please see How do I create an exception schedule? for guidance.

If the member needs to be active again, you’ll need to enrol them again. Please See How can I enrol my workers? for more information.

Not eligible – Member changed

You’ve told us that you’ve changed the member’s group or payment source in a previous contribution schedule which means they’ve moved to a different contribution schedule.

You won’t be able to provide any contribution information for the member in this schedule. You’ll need to provide information for them in the members new contribution schedule.

Not eligible – Member exited

The member doesn’t have an active NEST account anymore. This might be because they’ve taken their money out of NEST or passed away.

You won’t be able to provide any contribution information for the member in this contribution schedule. 

Once the member has taken their money out of NEST you won’t be able to make any additional contributions for them.

You can find these workers in your inactive worker section. Please see How do I view inactive workers? for more information.

 

Was this helpful to you?

Tell us how can we improve this article?

/4000
Cancel Submit

Thank you.

Feedback

Was this helpful to you?

Tell us how can we improve this article?

/4000
Cancel Submit

Live Chat

Our live help agents will answer your questions and guide you trough setting up and managing NEST.

Our chat is available from Monday to Sunday from 8.00AM to 8.00PM

Your feedback is important to us. Tell us what you think. feedback